• The Canadian Institute of Marine Engineering (CIMarE) is an entirely volunteer run, national, non profit organization.

    Numerous dedicated professionals make tremendous efforts to organize the National Council, local branch meetings, and professional events such as Marine Engineering : The New Wave, all for the benefit of the institute’s membership, the Marine and Marine Engineering community at large.

    The Vancouver Island Branch (VIB) has been active in hosting technical conferences in addition to twice hosting MariTech, the CIMarE‘s national technical conference which is held in rotation between the seven branches. Past conferences have been consistently well received by Sponsors, Exhibitors, Presenters and Attendees alike. Some past events have included High Speed Vessel Conference 1999, Green Marine 2009, MariTech 2004, and MariTech 2011. We expect The New Wave 2014 to be even more successful during a period of rapidly changing technological development in the marine sector.

    Technical conferences are a valuable tools for professional development, for networking with peers. They also serve as fundraisers for continued professional development events, held throughout the year by the CIMarE VIB. In addition, the branch uses some of these proceeds to fund charitable acts for the local marine community.

    The volunteer organizing committee meets at least once per month, commencing one year before the conference start; and, weekly as the event approaches.

    Org com

    Back Row L-R, Phil, Ryan, Bert, Mike. Front Row: Louise Anne, Tony, Alicja. Not Pictured, Sam, Martin


    The volunteer organizing committee is comprised of the following members:

    Organizing Committee – Marine Engineering : The New Wave (2014)
    Position Name
    Chair Tony Cond
    Technical Paper Chair Ryan Nicoll
    Technical Paper Vice Chair Sam Johnson
    Venue & Exhibition  Bert Blattmann
    Secretary & Sponsorship Alicja Rudzki
    Treasurer & Registrar Louise Anne Granger
    Print Media Phil Dauphinee
    Online Media Martin Leduc
    Member at Large Mike Weaver